Gothic Fairytales

I ran across these beautiful images from Japanese photographer Miwa Yanagi, and thought they were worth sharing.

More after the break.

 

I just love art that manages to be successfully creepy and whimsical at the same time. Look at those scissors! Tell me they aren’t goofy. There’s just such a baffling narrative here– why has hair cascaded down through the ceiling? What’s wrong with the other girl? Will the hair grow back freakishly fast?

Here are a few others from this gorgeous series:

Please take a moment to explore the rest of this beautiful series at the artist’s website.

Interestingly, I found this through a link in Neil Gaiman’s wonderful journal, and he noted that these are closest to what he thinks of when he pictures fairy tales.

On a loosely related front, I love Diana Wynne Jones.

If I have a chance, I’d love to do something a little more extensive to honor her memory and her great work, but for now I’ve given you a few of my favorite lines from Howl’s Moving Castle. We lost a great, luminous woman this month. I plan to honor her by reading and loving her works even more.

“I think we ought to live happily ever after,” and she thought he meant it. Sophie knew that living happily ever after with Howl would be a good deal more hair-raising than any storybook made it sound, though she was determined to try. “It should be hair-raising,” added Howl.
“And you’ll exploit me,” Sophie said.
“And then you’ll cut up all my suits to teach me.”
Diana Wynne Jones, Howl’s Moving Castle

“If I give you a hint and tell you it’s a hint, it will be information.”
—ibid.

“It is quite a risk to spank a wizard for getting hysterical about his hair.”
—ibid.

Beautiful, but often also hilarious. Love it.

Leave a Reply

